How to Make Friends with the Dark

£9.9
FREE Shipping

How to Make Friends with the Dark

How to Make Friends with the Dark

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Glasgow's Schreibstil ist sehr intensiv und lässt ebenso intensiv mitfühlen und Augen feucht werden. A rare and powerful novel, How to Make Friends with the Dark dives deep into the heart of grief and healing with honesty, empathy, and grace. If you think you’re in for an unremittingly grim read, you’re not totally wrong, but there is some light in the darkness. Thaddeus came out of nowhere and became her friend in a very short period of time, which felt rushed and unrealistic to me, though I appreciated that he didn't just become a love interest as these characters tend to.

I'm the kind of person who emotionally connects to literally everything in a book, especially of this genre, so that was a very strange thing for me. Just like in Kathleen Glasgow's other novel Girl in Pieces, it starts slow and then goes sideways fast. My heart breaks every time I think about where she’s placed right now and I hope, I can only pray that she’s not alone wherever she really is. But I need the other half of my machine to beep and whir at me, and do all that other stuff moms are supposed to do.

Some things in the end chapters had me almost outright bawling in the breakroom and smiling a little at one particular happening. But there isn't a single word in the universe that you can think of that would describe the way you feel right now. As a summary if we want to take control of lives and fill the blank pages by designating our own fate, we have to learn making peace with the darkness !

Going into How to Make Friends with the Dark I knew I was dealing with heart hitting, emotional prose that will leave me feel low, but nothing prepared me for the amount of emotions I feltl.

I started reading Kathleen Glasgow’s YA novel How to Make Friends with the Dark at school last week…and then all hell broke loose. Fans of One of Us Is Lying and Riverdale won't want to miss this YA thriller by international bestseller Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson.

But thank goodness, the main character has so much humor, it has become an inherent part of her language. A minor with no known living relatives, Tiger becomes a ward of the state of Arizona, sharing foster homes with kids who have been abused and abandoned.There was a lot of weird pacing in this, which I guess reflects real life, but it made for a whiplashy reading experience. In Kathryn Glasgow's How to Make Friends with the Dark, 16-year-old Tiger learns that her mother is dead, and almost equally upsetting, she can't even go somewhere familiar to stay while she figures out how to adjust to being an orphan; with no known father or other relatives, she is relegated to the legal responsibility of the state of Arizona and uprooted from the life and the people she knew. We meet Tiger Tolliver at her most broken--at her darkest moment--and yet, somehow, How To Make Friends With the Dark teaches us how to let the light in. Ca și cum mergi fără să-ți fi rămas prea multă piele, ca și cum toată lumea îți vede oasele și inima, acum, că mama ta e moartă? We didnt need the ranch scene, especially since it did very little to show her mother’s love of horses.

I was surprised by what happened to Tiger in the end, but Kathleen Glasgow is good enough to hide that surprise until the end. Who would ever guess that it isn’t your bones or your blood or your heart that keeps everything humming along inside you, it’s your freaking mom, and when she’s dead, it all disappears.This book didn’t disappointment me and made me think about more things than just a young girl who loses her mother. You can lose your possessions, your social circles, your carrier or your dignity, patience, reputation.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop