£9.9
FREE Shipping

Powerless

Powerless

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

This was such an enjoyable read and a really strong debut!! 🤩🤩 If you're looking for a fantasy romance with fast pacing, Hunger Games vibes and a romance with TONS of chemistry, then this is definitely the book for you! I had a really fun time 💜💜🫶🫶 Surviving in the slums as an Ordinary is no simple task, and Paedyn knows this better than most. Having been trained by her father to be keenly observant since she was a child, Paedyn poses as a Psychic in the crowded city, blending in with the Elites as best she can to stay alive and out of trouble...easier said than done. The Plague has left a population divided between Elites and Ordinaries—those who have powers and those who don’t; now, an Ordinary teen fights for her life.

The second heart-racing instalment in this bestselling and sizzling fantasy romance trilogy. Perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Hunger Games. And this we can see in how the whole plot is based on The Hunger Games. The Trials are the Games, the Elites are the Capitol, we even have the interviews and sponsors. Paedyn is clearly a Katniss variant and Adeana is a combination of Prim and Cinna. These similarities are unabashedly thrown at the reader’s face. The host of the interviews even has bright blue hair, I’m not joking. Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, this young adult fantasy follows the forbidden romance between a powerful prince and an ordinary girl as they try to survive their kingdom’s grueling laws pitting them against each other.

Christmas Cards & Gift Wrap

i can’t even explain how much i’m in love with kai and paedyn. their relationship is my new favorite thing in the world. THE TENSION. literally died dead.

The plot is very reminiscent of The Hunger Games, with the deadly trials, the somewhat dystopian world and the oppressed vs. oppressor themes. I think the author has managed to put her own spin on the story, and although it's not the most original plot out there, it was very enjoyable. Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, this young adult fantasy follows the forbidden romance between a powerful prince and an ordinary girl as they try to survive their kingdom's grueling laws pitting them against each other. Both the plot and writing were also pretty good!! 🫶🫶 I really enjoyed the writing style and how easy it was to read, it made the book FLY by. There were also some seriously gorgeous lines that had my jaw on the floor. it was really good writing for a debut!! 😍😍 The plot was very entertaining and fast-paced. There was minimal worldbuilding and it was very easy to understand, so this is a great book if you want to get into fantasy! 💜💜 After years of advertisement, anticipation and an abundance of encouragement, I self-published the book. But when I captured the attention of Simon & Schuster, I squealed louder than ever. This is quite literally a dream come true. I am so excited to continue this crazy journey with such an incredible team.” I spin her if only to give myself some time to think. I'd never thought about what my favorite color was before It never seemed important. Not until I looked into a pair of ocean blue eyes and realized that perhaps drowning was a beautiful thing.

Table of Contents

I’d love to talk about Paedyn, but she has no flaws. She’s perfect. No weakness whatsoever. Her only weakness is the people she loves, meaning she herself holds no imperfection. In other words, Paedyn might as well be a deity because Roberts does not bother to portray her as human.

Despite my robbing the woman at least once a month for the past several years, she’s still only managed to conclude that I am a he. At least she’s trying. The smell of soot stings my nose, forcing me to clamp a grimy hand over it to stop a sneeze from slipping out. Normally in fantasy books the author is often scared to kill off characters. We did not have that problem here. It was exactly as you would expect - dystopian, heartbreaking, the slowest of slowest of slow burns. The strongest weapon a woman has at her disposal is that she is often underestimated," I answer with a small smile. "And I wield that all the time.” I hop off the chimney and grab onto the raised ledge of the roof, swinging my legs over the side to dangle above the street. Blowing out a breath, I let go and bite my tongue against a yelp as gravity yanks me toward the ground. With a soft thud I drop ungracefully into a merchant’s wagon brimming with hay. The stiff straw pokes through my clothes like one of Adena’s pincushions, and a cloud of soot and hay rises on the night breeze when I jump out onto the street.

Christmas Gifts

i think lauren has a lot of growth ahead as an author and i mean that as a compliment. i do look forward to the next book and really hope for a more natural story (not too trope-y) with more original development in the storyline. there is SO MUCH potential here. A stabbing pain in my side has my drooping eyes flying open, drowsiness forgotten. The jagged stone jutting up from the alley floor has me groggily grumbling, “Mark my words, I’m going to steal a cot one day.” If I kiss you—really kiss you, like how I've wanted to, how I've waited to—should I expect a dagger at my throat?" Remind me to to make you smile like that again, when you aren't dying, and I have all the time in the world to memorise it.” ~ THIS MANN

While the plot was fun overall, i do thi the characters: I love the characters so much and I appreciate that this is a dual pov because it allows us to really get to know them (petition for authors to always include the MMC’s pov) My traitorous gaze sweeps across the city to where I know my former home lies wedged between Merchant and Elm Streets. Where a happy little family is likely sitting around the dinner table, laughing and discussing their day with one another— The writing is not bad (pacing is a little slow though). I am quite lenient when it comes to writing because I grew up on Wattpad and have seen it all. For a debut novel, I did not expect anything extraordinary. The author's writing did give me some Wattpad vibes, but I am fine with that. However, this is a published book and not on Wattpad, so I expected better grammar and less typos. The consistency in writing is off to me. There are moments in the book when sentences sound very basic and then suddenly it would switch to the most elaborate writing you have ever seen. Dialogue is also kind of juvenile. This book is a victim of telling and not showing. There are so many instances where the author just tells us things and we are supposed to go with it, rather than actually showing us throughout the book. One example, she tells us how Prince Kai cares so much for Jax, who he views as a younger brother but never really shows the relationship in the book. Even in Kai's POV, he and Jax barely interact and the readers are just supposed to roll with the idea that the two are extremely close. There are many more instances like this. The worldbuilding didn't survive too much of a thinky think. I don't think it was a good idea to introduce genocide and oppression without engaging with those ideas properly. It felt very much like this book was trying to be Hunger Games but it had as much depth as the Selection. (This review is getting long but I have so many issues with the reform revolutionaries in the selection and the violent vs nonviolent thing going on there). That feels so mean to say I'm sorry but also please. PLEASE. I can suspend my disbelief about the girl getting away with being an Ordinary, but I draw the line as using revolution as an aesthetic without real political worldbuilding behind it.Across the deadly Scorches, and deep into the hostile city of Dor, Kai pursues the one person he wishes he didn’t have to. But in a city without Elites, the balance between the hunter and hunted shifts – and the battle between duty and desire is deadly. Is it the dress?” he asks as he sits up and begins shrugging off his suit coat. When it’s slid off his shoulders, he lays it on the ground beside him.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop